12th Annual Conference 2004

12th Annual Conference 2004

Science Advancement in Hong Kong

Venue: Lam Woo International Conference Centre
Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong
Date: 30th October, 2004
Saturday 9:00am – 5:50pm

Aims and objective:

The conference is an annual event organized by the Hong Kong Institute of Science and hosted by one of the universities in Hong Kong. Eminent local scientists are invited to deliver talks on cutting edge research as well as on advancement of science and technology in Hong Kong. The event is also a platform for scientists of different disciplines to get together and discuss issues that may have an impact on the development of science and technology in Hong Kong.

The talks will be open to students in the universities as well as to the general public, especially high school teachers and senior form students, to enhance their interest in science and technology and raise their awareness on career opportunities for young people in the area. An exhibition on research achievement of scientists from universities in Hong Kong will also be held on the same day.

Free Admission

Carpark (limited spaces, first come first served)

HKIS Member, free
Postgraduate Student, $20
Non-member, $100 (may also be used as membership fee)

Deadline for Registration: October 15, 2004

8:30 – 9:15 Registration
9:15 – 9:35

Opening address by Prof. C.F. Ng, President of the Hong Kong Institution of Science, President and Vice-Chancellor of Hong Kong Baptist University

9:35 – 9:50

Address by Prof. Arthur K. C. Li, Secretary for Education and Manpower

9:50 – 10:15

Presentation of Young Scientist Awards

10:15 – 10:30

Coffee break

10:30 – 12:20

First symposium session

12:20 – 12:45


12:45 – 14:00


14:00 – 15:45

Second symposium session

15:45 – 16:00

Coffee break

16:00 – 17:40

Third symposium session

17:40 – 17:50

Concluding remarks


Exhibition ends

Organized by:

The Hong Kong Institution of Science
Hong Kong Baptist University

Supported by:

Croucher Foundation

Epson Foundation

Organizing Committee:
Prof. Wong, Rick W K (Hon. Chair)
Dr. Leung, Wing Nang (Chair)
Prof. Chan, Kelvin K C
Dr. Chan, Robert K Y
Dr. Lai, Suk Yin
Dr. Tam, Hon Wah
Dr. Wong, Chris K C
Dr. Xue, Wei Min
Dr. Yue, Kevin K M
Enquiries and submission to:
Ms. Eunice Yeung,
Full-time Teaching Unit,
School of Chinese Medicine
Hong Kong Baptist University
Tel: 3411-2481 Fax: 3411-2461


1. Invitation Card
2. Reply slip